h1

Canon XH A1 & DOF Adapters

September 9, 2007

This is a cool little video series I found today while taking a render break from editing a project about the Canon XH A1 HDV camcorder that actually gave me a bit more information that I’d already known, just about HDV itself.  I’ve only watched the first episode so far, but I’ll post all three for your viewing pleasure.  Enjoy the information and go check out filmmaking.com, the site that hosts a few featured videos on the top of their page as well as links to tons of other resources around the internet for filmmakers.

Pt. 1

Link: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ts66BV5OTHI

Pt. 2

Link: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=j9FFRU0iJMY

Pt. 3
Link: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=drz4VdEE

Hope these videos are useful or at least informative.  Enjoy, leave any comments or questions below and I’ll be happy to address them as best I can.

5 comments

  1. Very useful information, Kyle. I have recently purchased an EX A1 Canon and the depth of field adapter (and wide-angle lens) are on the ‘must-have’ list. My first project was a disaster… Capturing in HD with standard definition tapes and having the gains (accidentally) set at the highest level. You mentioned the loss of light with a dof adapter and your advice on preparation is appreciated. The ability of the adapter developed by Mr Lee to use standard SLR lenses is also useful information for a novice.

    Kind regards

    Mike Thomas


  2. Oh no problem, glad you enjoyed them. From your comment it sounds like you thought I made them, and that is not me in the video. I just found them and reposted them, hoping to help out people like you who’d stumble upon my blog here. But that aside, I am glad you found them helpful.


  3. Thank you so much for the useful information.

    How the quality of the camcorder’s body would effect to the picture quality if I use a DOF adaptor?
    I am thinking of Sony PMW-EX1 or Canon XH A1 or VH20/30
    Does it make as mush difference as the price tag?
    I may eventually transfer the movie file to 35mm print.
    What would you recommend to an independent film maker who is new to HD Camcorder?

    I would appreciate your help~~

    Best wishes,

    Jeong-A Seong


  4. Well, personally, I have zero experience with full HD shooting or workflow. You might want to check out HDforIndies.com, I’ve heard that’s a good resource. Also, as far as these video go, they’re not my own creation, so you’ll have to ask your question on their YouTube pages. Good luck.


  5. Thank you!! ^^



Leave a Reply

