h1

Showcase: The Jack

November 7, 2007

Ever come across an old home video that made you laugh but nobody else would get it because they simply weren’t there?  Ever wished you could show them what it felt like to be there?  This video, found after perusing ElizaAnne‘s videos due to her addictive accent (I love accents, and Aussie accents are my favorite) on YouTube, does just that.  It’s a simple mockumentary about the Jack, a rare and wild creature who apparently inhabits her backyard.  She’s doing both the camerawork and the narration, and they come together with music from none other than Lord of the Rings to create a very nice, playful piece that appeals to even me, a complete stranger.  It’s a simple video, just shots cut together with music placed over them.  She even did the voiceover while shooting, which obviously eliminates any post needs to record voiceover audio and worry about technical issues since it’s right in-camera.  And this was such a simple video that they didn’t need to worry about taking her mix-ups out, since they just cut the shots together and that was the most complex part of the video.  Actually, I’d bet getting it onto YouTube was the most complex, or maybe it’s just me that’s had much trouble with it.  The point of showing this video is not only to post again and showcase someone’s work, but to showcase the beauty that comes in simplicity, the ease of creating a truly adorable and somehow magical home video that is no more work than shooting, editing and uploading – with a few minor technical steps in between.  When commenting on the video, I said that “there is something adorable and beautiful about this… The loving laugh, goofy rolling around and ending of the music all at the same time were a perfect ending to just an old home video, but it was great even for me, a complete stranger.”  All she says about the project is this “This is a really old video. August 2006 to be exact. Made a LONG time ago. I look really bad, but it’s a good video project that my little brother and I worked on.”  But you know what, she’s right.

I recently was shooting some video in my room and noticed that I was almost completely blacked out because of the lights on either side of me.  So I took my one little work light and placed it at an angle, with a sheet of cardboard covered in tinfoil opposite it on the other side of the room, acting as a reflector.  I turned the light on, stood in place and presto.  It was great-looking footage with nice lighting and a cool sense of “where the hell is that light coming from?  It looks great!”  That’s what it made me think, anyway.  The point here is to get out and just shoot something.  Take a camera and get some cool looking angles, play with a light and something reflective and shoot some thoughtful postures of yourself, then splice everything together with some cool music and maybe a poem or something and you’ve got cool-looking poetry-in-motion.  Hah, get it?  Yea… anyway, point stated, showcase showcased, I have a small announcement and you can get out there and shoot.  The Waiting Room is nearing completion.  It’s got music by Ben of YouTube, and I need to shoot some last scenes of myself, edit them into the final cut and tighten it up, get the rest of the music and it should be good to go.  I’d say total, it’s about halfway through post now.  But that still only feels like the beginning.  Once the cameraperson and other crew agree to a date, we can shoot and I’ll be all set with footage, then comes the final touches and the scoring sessions and it’s done as well.  More updates as that progresses and it will no doubt be on YouTube once it’s done.  LATENT(CY), the feature I made last year, is also on YouTube (in 7 parts) in my video collection on my profile page, so check that out too.  For now, though, take a lesson from ElizaAnne and go shoot some video!



Be sure to check out ElizaAnne’s other videos too (like the one above), as some of them contain some fairly talented singing as well.  Thanks for the video, best wishes and best of luck to all you filmmakers out there reading.  Happy filmmaking.

Link: http://youtube.com/watch?v=X0EwkjsVl0k

One comment

  1. Yeah, they are talents!



Leave a Reply

