h1

Link Dump: Rigs

September 25, 2008

Alright, well I haven’t collected any links that are new to me, but I started digging through my collection I’ve amassed over the years doing research for the project, and came across a few things that will be helpful.  We’re not actually building rigs for the shoot, but it was a thought in the beginning, so naturally I got excited about it.  So, here’s what I’ve got to offer right now, feel free to leave additions and whatnot in the comments.

First of all, this book rocks.  Plain and simple.  If you have an interested in building functional, cheap rigs for your projects, buy it.  I don’t advertise on here, so you know this is special.  I love it.

For those of you who don’t already know, HomeBuiltStabilizers is a brilliant DIY rig showcasing site with plans, tips, tutorials, and reference shots of all sorts of different rigs for your viewing and building pleasure.

Softweigh‘s got some cool ideas for little rigs and tools to make for your productions.

This idea I always thought was sweet, if I could only get myself together the time and whatnot to try to build it and make it work.  Yet another idea I thought was a sweet little rig that’d be easy to make and fun to use.

This is a more general helpful site in the low-budget filmmaking field, good to check out if you’re looking for a good article or something to read.

And finally, funnily enough, Videomaker Magazine published two articles on making DIY rigs, a crane and jib.  I’ve barely glanced at them so far, but definitely take a look, try it out, see how it goes.  Enjoy.

Leave a Reply

