h1

Link Dump: Eclectic

October 25, 2008

Alright, here’s a pretty scattered entry, and I’m sorry for it being late, but I’ve gotten home at midnight the last 2-3 nights in a row and haven’t been in much of a mood for more than sleep by that time, so here’s the entry, I hope you enjoy it nonetheless.

First of all, here’s a cool packet of Nuke tools to help you deal with those yucky interlaced fields in your footage.  Also, a Shake to Fusion transition guide for those of you looking to branch out into other apps.  Also, here’s a tool for Maya called FBIK CharacterControl which looks a lot like the XSI character rigging window, but surely has differences.  Cool to try out, though.  Production Suite is a freeware app for Windows that I’m going to try out when I get the chance (I’m setting up my PC at home right now, installing Adobe’s Production Suite CS3 as I type), but it caught my eye.

Among the cool tutorials I discovered this week, there was this one on tesselating geometry for displacement maps in Maya when creating terrain, a cool Making Of on ‘The Patient,’ and Videomaker’s day-to-night tutorial “Night Light,” (also check out VideoCopilot.net’s day-for-night tutorial, it’s pretty sweet).

Videomaker came out with an article on 35mm lens adaptors (also, Stu Maschwitz posted today about the 5DMkII that’s come out recently, the video form which is gorgeous), these two videos of Adobe’s Photoshop CS4 release are pretty sweet, Lifehacker’s article on Windows/Mac Compatibility is very exciting, and while browsing VFXY (great resource for VFX-related stuff on the web) I found Belief studios’ website and it had WonderHowTo video tutorials embedded on the entry page.  How cool is that?

That’s it for this week.  I’ve got some showcase items in the queue for Sunday, so those should be up around the right time.  Until then, enjoy the links posted here, and happy filmmaking :).

Leave a Reply

